Skip to content
Calculator
Evidence: HighBlend or mixtureNot FDA ApprovedPig-brain peptide mixApproved abroadStroke and dementia

Cerebrolysin

A pig-brain peptide mixture used for stroke and dementia in about 50 countries: many trials, and Cochrane reviews that found no survival benefit

Cerebrolysin is not a single molecule but a mixture of small peptides and amino acids made from pig brain, given by intravenous infusion. It is approved in Austria and about 50 other countries and has a long list of controlled trials in stroke and dementia. The independent summaries are sobering: the 2023 Cochrane review found no effect on death after stroke and more non-fatal serious adverse events, and the Cochrane review of vascular dementia judged its evidence weak.

Overview

What is it?

Cerebrolysin is a mixture of low-molecular-weight peptides and free amino acids derived from pig brain, so it has no single sequence, formula or molecular weight. Known in early papers as FPF-1070 and made by EVER Neuro Pharma (formerly Ebewe Pharma), it is approved in Austria and about 50 other countries and used widely for stroke in Russia, Eastern Europe, China and other Asian and post-Soviet countries. It is given as a course of daily infusions, typically 10 to 30 mL a day for one to four weeks.

In stroke, the largest trial was neutral. CASTA randomised 1,070 Asian patients within 12 hours of stroke to 30 mL a day or placebo for 10 days and found no difference on its combined primary outcome; a post-hoc look at the most severe strokes showed a favourable trend. Smaller trials that paired the drug with early rehabilitation reported benefits, CARS a large effect on arm function at day 90. The 2023 Cochrane review pooled seven trials with 1,773 participants: little to no difference in death (risk ratio 0.96), but more people with non-fatal serious adverse events (risk ratio 2.39). The manufacturer supported three of the multicentre trials, and much of the risk of bias was unclear.

In dementia the trial results look better than the reviews. In 242 patients with vascular dementia, ADAS-cog+ scores improved by 10.6 points against 4.4 on placebo, and a dose-finding study in Alzheimer's disease improved global function at all three doses. But in a 197-patient Alzheimer's trial, neither cerebrolysin nor its combination with donepezil differed from donepezil alone on cognition, function or behaviour, and the 2019 Cochrane review of vascular dementia concluded that any benefit may be too small to matter and that the evidence base is weak.

Most reported side effects are mild: vertigo, agitation and feeling hot top a 2012 safety review, which found adverse-event rates similar to placebo in controlled trials. The Cochrane signal on non-fatal serious adverse events is the exception worth weighing, and it was clearest at 30 mL a day for 10 days. One odd finding: five older patients in a 2022 case series saw grey scalp hair darken during treatment. Cerebrolysin is not approved in the US and appears in no category on FDA's 503A list.

1,070
patients in CASTA
neutral primary outcome (2012)
0.96
risk ratio for death
Cochrane 2023: 7 trials, 1,773 people
2.39
risk ratio, non-fatal SAEs
more with cerebrolysin (Cochrane 2023)
~50
countries approve it
including Austria; not the US
Science

Mechanism of Action

Cerebrolysin is described as mimicking neurotrophic factors, but as a mixture it has no single target, and the mechanism evidence is thin next to the trial record. Four threads appear in the abstracts.

⚙

Neurotrophic-like action

Trial and review abstracts describe it as a neuropeptide preparation that mimics the effects of the body's neurotrophic factors, promoting neurogenesis and neuronal plasticity. That is a description of intent; none of the carded trials measured a neurotrophic effect in patients.

→

New neurons after stroke in rats

In rats with an embolic stroke, 2.5 or 5 mL/kg started 24 hours afterwards increased neural progenitor cells and migrating neuroblasts in the injured hemisphere at 28 days and reduced the number of dying cells.

◆

Alongside other treatments

A 2012 safety review found it apparently safe with the clot-dissolving drug alteplase and with the dementia drugs donepezil and rivastigmine. In an Alzheimer's trial, adding it to donepezil favoured global outcome but did not improve cognition, function or behaviour.

≋

Pigment cells

In five older patients whose grey scalp hair darkened during treatment, staining linked the change to reactivated melanocytes expressing MART-1/Melan-A. It is one small case series, and the mechanism is unexplained.

Evidence

Published Research

Our evidence set holds 50 papers on cerebrolysin, 48 naming it in the title, and unusually for this encyclopedia most are human: randomised trials in stroke and dementia, and a run of Cochrane reviews. The 12 cards below lead with the largest trial and the independent reviews, negative findings included, then the smaller trials, a safety review, a case series and one animal study.

Human2012

CASTA: acute stroke, 1,070 patients

Patients with acute ischaemic stroke in Asia were randomised within 12 hours to 30 mL of cerebrolysin or saline daily by infusion for 10 days, on top of aspirin. The combined primary outcome at 90 days showed no difference. In a post-hoc subgroup with severe strokes (NIHSS above 12), outcomes trended in favour of cerebrolysin and 90-day mortality was 10.5% versus 20.2%.

PMID: 22282884
Review2023

Cochrane 2023: acute ischaemic stroke

Seven randomised trials (1,773 participants) found little to no difference in all-cause death (risk ratio 0.96, 95% CI 0.65 to 1.41) or in total serious adverse events, but more people with non-fatal serious adverse events (risk ratio 2.39, 95% CI 1.10 to 5.23), most clearly at 30 mL for 10 days (2.87). The manufacturer supported three multicentre trials; risk of bias was largely unclear.

PMID: 37818733
Review2017

Cochrane 2017: what cerebrolysin is

The 2017 edition of the Cochrane stroke review describes cerebrolysin as a mixture of low-molecular-weight peptides and amino acids from pig brain tissue, widely used for acute stroke in Russia, Eastern Europe, China and other Asian and post-Soviet countries, and records that its authors contacted the maker, EVER Neuro Pharma (formerly Ebewe Pharma). The 2023 update, above, supersedes it.

PMID: 28430363
Human2016

CARS: stroke rehabilitation

Patients received 30 mL a day or saline for 21 days, starting 24 to 72 hours after stroke, alongside a standardised rehabilitation programme. Arm function on the Action Research Arm Test at day 90 showed a large effect in favour of cerebrolysin (Mann-Whitney estimator 0.71), and a small-to-medium effect across 12 outcome scales; 3.8% stopped early.

PMID: 26564102
Human2017

Early recovery after stroke, 100 patients

Patients enrolled within 18 hours of stroke received 30 mL a day for seven days, then 10 mL a day to day 30, or placebo. Change on the NIH Stroke Scale at day 30 favoured cerebrolysin with a medium-to-large effect (Mann-Whitney 0.66, 95% CI 0.55 to 0.78, P = 0.005), with similar effects on the modified Rankin Scale.

PMID: 29075343
Human2011

Vascular dementia, 242 patients

Added to aspirin, 20 mL of intravenous cerebrolysin daily in two treatment cycles improved ADAS-cog+ by 10.6 points at week 24, against 4.4 points on placebo (difference −6.17, P < .0001), and improved the clinician's global rating by a treatment difference of 0.84 (P < .0001).

PMID: 20656516
Human2011

Alzheimer's disease, three doses

In a dose-finding study, patients with Alzheimer's disease received 10, 30 or 60 mL infusions or saline over 12 weeks. At week 24 all three doses improved global clinical function, with gains in cognition, initiation of daily activities and neuropsychiatric symptoms at particular doses; total daily-living scores, MMSE and the trail-making test did not change significantly.

PMID: 20500802
Human2011

With donepezil in Alzheimer's disease

In a double-blind trial, 197 patients with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease received cerebrolysin 10 mL, donepezil 10 mg, or both. At week 28 there were no significant group differences in cognition, function or behaviour; global outcome favoured cerebrolysin and the combination.

PMID: 21679156
Review2019

Cochrane 2019: vascular dementia

Courses of intravenous cerebrolysin improved cognition and general function in vascular dementia, but heterogeneity and high risk of bias limited the analysis, and the reviewers warn that any benefit may be too small to be clinically meaningful. No new trials had appeared since the previous review; they call the evidence base weak.

PMID: 31710397
Review2012

Safety profile from dementia and stroke trials

Adverse reactions were generally mild and transient, most often vertigo, agitation and feeling hot, and in the controlled trials analysed the incidence of adverse events was similar with cerebrolysin and placebo. It appeared safe with alteplase and with donepezil or rivastigmine, without major changes in vital signs or laboratory values.

PMID: 22514795
Human2022

Grey hair darkening: five patients

Five patients with an average age of 70.6, treated with cerebrolysin for neurological disease, had diffuse repigmentation of age-related grey scalp hair. Staining linked the darkening to reactivated melanocytes expressing MART-1/Melan-A. It is a case series, not a trial.

PMID: 36411485
Animal2010

Neurogenesis after stroke in rats

In rats with an embolic middle cerebral artery stroke, cerebrolysin at 2.5 or 5 mL/kg, started 24 hours afterwards, increased neural progenitor cells in the subventricular zone and migrating neuroblasts at the edge of the damage at 28 days, and reduced cell death.

PMID: 20857512
Dosing

Dosing Data

Cerebrolysin is dosed by volume rather than milligrams, because it is a mixture. The trials gave 10 to 60 mL a day by intravenous infusion, in courses of one to four weeks.

Not a recommendation. The 2023 Cochrane review found more non-fatal serious adverse events with cerebrolysin, most clearly at 30 mL a day for 10 days, the regimen of the largest stroke trial.
ProtocolDoseFrequencyDurationRoute
Acute stroke, CASTA (2012) Human studyPMID 2228288430 mLDaily infusion10 daysIntravenous
Stroke rehabilitation, CARS (2016) Human studyPMID 2656410230 mLDaily21 daysNot stated
Early stroke recovery (2017) Human studyPMID 2907534330 mL, then 10 mLDaily7 days, then to day 30Not stated
Vascular dementia (2011) Human studyPMID 2065651620 mLDaily, in 2 cycles24-week studyIntravenous
Alzheimer's dose-finding (2011) Human studyPMID 2050080210, 30 or 60 mL5 then 2 days a week12 weeksIntravenous

Educational information, not medical advice. Each dose above is tagged with its source: an approved label, a published human study, animal data, or amounts reported by users. None is a recommendation for you. An unapproved compound has no established safe or effective human dose, and products sold for “research use only” are not made or tested for people. Talk to a doctor before acting on anything on this site, including before you start, stop or change any medicine or dose. Full medical disclaimer.

Millilitres, not milligrams
Cerebrolysin has no single active molecule, so its doses are volumes of solution: 30 mL a day for 10 days is a cumulative 300 mL, the regimen in which the Cochrane review saw the clearest rise in non-fatal serious adverse events. The reconstitution calculator is built for single peptides and does not apply here.
Open Calculator →
Safety

Side Effects & Contraindications

Reported Side Effects

The trials and a 2012 safety review describe mostly mild effects; the pooled Cochrane data add one signal the individual trials did not show.

● Vertigo, agitation and feeling hot: the most common adverse events in the 2012 safety review
● Overall adverse events similar to placebo in controlled trials (Cochrane 2023 risk ratio 1.03)
● Non-fatal serious adverse events: more with cerebrolysin in the 2023 Cochrane review (risk ratio 2.39; 2.87 at 30 mL for 10 days)
● Early discontinuation of 3.8% in the CARS rehabilitation trial
● Darkening of grey scalp hair in five older patients (2022 case series)

Contraindications & Cautions

No study on this page sets contraindications. These cautions follow from the reviews and from what the product is.

● The 30 mL, 10-day regimen: where the Cochrane review's signal of more non-fatal serious adverse events was clearest
● Pork-derived: it is made from pig brain, which matters to anyone who avoids porcine products
● Home intramuscular use: the controlled trials gave it as supervised intravenous infusions and did not study self-injection
● Pregnancy and breastfeeding: no data in our evidence set
Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

?Is cerebrolysin a peptide?

It is a mixture of many small peptides and free amino acids made from pig brain, not a single peptide. That is why it has no formula or molecular weight, and why it is dosed in millilitres rather than milligrams.

?Does cerebrolysin help after a stroke?

The largest trial, CASTA with 1,070 patients, found no difference on its primary outcome. Smaller trials combining it with early rehabilitation reported better function. The 2023 Cochrane review of seven trials found no effect on death and more non-fatal serious adverse events.

?Does it help dementia?

Trials in vascular dementia and Alzheimer's disease reported gains on cognitive and global scales, but a 197-patient Alzheimer's trial found no advantage over donepezil on cognition, function or behaviour, and the 2019 Cochrane review of vascular dementia called the evidence weak and the benefit possibly too small to matter.

?Is cerebrolysin safe?

Individual trials and a 2012 safety review report mostly mild effects, such as vertigo, agitation and feeling hot, at rates similar to placebo. The 2023 Cochrane review, pooling three trials, found more non-fatal serious adverse events with cerebrolysin, most clearly at 30 mL a day for 10 days.

?Is cerebrolysin available in the US?

It is not FDA-approved, and it appears in no category on FDA's 503A list, so US pharmacies cannot compound it. Status as of September 26, 2026.

?Can cerebrolysin darken grey hair?

A 2022 case series described five older patients whose grey scalp hair darkened during treatment, with signs of reactivated pigment cells. It is a single small report, and nobody has tested it as a hair treatment.

Bibliography

References

  1. [clinical-trial] Heiss WD, et al. "Cerebrolysin in patients with acute ischemic stroke in Asia: results of a double-blind, placebo-controlled randomized trial." Stroke, 2012;43(3):630-6. PMID: 22282884.
  2. [review] Ziganshina LE, et al. "Cerebrolysin for acute ischaemic stroke." Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2023;10(10):CD007026. PMID: 37818733.
  3. [review] Ziganshina LE, et al. "Cerebrolysin for acute ischaemic stroke." Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2017;4(4):CD007026. PMID: 28430363.
  4. [pubmed] Muresanu DF, et al. "Cerebrolysin and Recovery After Stroke (CARS): A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Double-Blind, Multicenter Trial." Stroke, 2016;47(1):151-9. PMID: 26564102.
  5. [pubmed] Gharagozli K, et al. "Efficacy and safety of Cerebrolysin treatment in early recovery after acute ischemic stroke: a randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blinded, multicenter clinical trial." J Med Life, 2017;10(3):153-160. PMID: 29075343.
  6. [pubmed] Guekht AB, et al. "Cerebrolysin in vascular dementia: improvement of clinical outcome in a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled multicenter trial." J Stroke Cerebrovasc Dis, 2011;20(4):310-8. PMID: 20656516.
  7. [pubmed] Alvarez XA, et al. "Efficacy and safety of Cerebrolysin in moderate to moderately severe Alzheimer's disease: results of a randomized, double-blind, controlled trial investigating three dosages of Cerebrolysin." Eur J Neurol, 2011;18(1):59-68. PMID: 20500802.
  8. [clinical-trial] Alvarez XA, et al. "Combination treatment in Alzheimer's disease: results of a randomized, controlled trial with cerebrolysin and donepezil." Curr Alzheimer Res, 2011;8(5):583-91. PMID: 21679156.
  9. [review] Cui S, et al. "Cerebrolysin for vascular dementia." Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2019;2019(11). PMID: 31710397.
  10. [review] Thome J, et al. "Safety profile of Cerebrolysin: clinical experience from dementia and stroke trials." Drugs Today (Barc), 2012;48 Suppl A:63-9. PMID: 22514795.
  11. [pubmed] Villarreal-Reyna G, et al. "Cerebrolysin induces hair repigmentation associated to MART-1/Melan-A reactivation." Eur J Med Res, 2022;27(1):257. PMID: 36411485.
  12. [pubmed] Zhang C, et al. "Cerebrolysin enhances neurogenesis in the ischemic brain and improves functional outcome after stroke." J Neurosci Res, 2010;88(15):3275-81. PMID: 20857512.

Sources & Citations

Every PMID on this page is PubMed-indexed and has been checked against its record. Both Cochrane stroke reviews are carded, the 2017 edition and its 2023 update, because our dataset cites the earlier one. Grey Peptides sells nothing and links to no vendor.

Medical Disclaimer: This content is for educational and informational purposes only. It is not medical advice, and nothing here is an instruction to obtain or use any compound. Talk to a licensed clinician about your own situation.

Last reviewed: 2026-09-26